IPL T20 9th Edition 2016 – The Ultimate battle


The Indian Premier League- T20 cricket fever is here and yet again, it promises thrilling challenges and electrifying performances  this year. Its the month of the IPLT20 challenge – the country’s most successful sporting league headlining BCCIs immense popularity and a crazy cricket loving nation. The game is on..so are you ready for it? IPL 9th edition logo VIVO - TP

The Indian Premier League aka IPL, is one of its kind which started in the year 2008 with ever increasing popularity. The IPL is  also the most-attended cricket league in the world and ranks sixth among all sports leagues. In 2010, the IPL became the first sporting event in the world to be broadcast live on YouTube. The brand value of IPL was estimated to be US$3.2 billion in 2014 and according to BCCI, the 2015 IPL season contributed US$182 million to the GDP of Indian economy. Such is it presence and popularity; and the 9th edition starting this year from April 8th to May 29th poises to be more sensational and electrifying.

teams IPL - TP

Opening Ceremony

opening ceremony - TP

The 2016 IPL promises to be more grand and exciting. And whats the good news? This editions’ opening ceremony will mark the presence of worldwide sensation and super talented US pop singer Chris Brown alongwith the beloved electronic trio of Major Lazer. All cricket crazy fans will get to watch Indian and international artistes perform during the opening ceremony at The Dome @ NSCI-SVP Stadium in Mumbai on 8th April. Also, lets not forget, the ceremony will also witness likes of Bollywood superstar Ranveer Singh & the list also includes Katrina Kaif and Jacqueline Fernandez, along with rapper Yo Yo Honey Singh. And guess what? WI heartthrob DJ Bravo is putting on his dancing shoes along with the company of teammate Chris Gayle. What a way to kick start this edition..and yes we are ready,the game is on.


DJ bravo - TP

Teams and Owners of IPL 2016

The 2016 9th Season of the IPL saw the arrival of two new teams- The Rising Pune Supergiants & The Gujarat Lions, comprising a formidable battle amongst total 8 teams. Here are the 8  teams and their owners locking horns for the 9th cap of the prestigious league.

IPL-2016 cover - TP

IPL T20 9th Edition Teams

Team City Captain Coach Owner IPL wins Founded
Delhi Daredevils
New Delhi Jean Paul Duminy Rahul Dravid GMR Group 0 2008
Gujarat Lions
Rajkot, Gujarat Suresh Raina Brad Hodge Keshav Bansal (Intex Technologies) 0 2016
Kings XI Punjab
Mohali, Punjab David Miller Sanjay Bangar Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, The Oberai Group, Karan Paul & Mohit Burman 0 2008
Kolkata Knight Riders
Kolkata, West Bengal Gautam Gambhir Jacques Kallis Shahrukh Khan (Red Chillies Entertainment), Juhi Chawla & Jai Mehta (Mehta Group). 2 (2012,2014) 2008
Mumbai Indians
Mumbai, Maharashtra Rohit Sharma Ricky Ponting Reliance Industries 2 (2013, 2015) 2008
Rising Pune Supergiants
Pune, Maharashtra Mahendra Singh Dhoni Stephen Fleming Sanjiv Goenka 0 2015
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Bengaluru, Karnataka Virat Kohli Daniel Vettori Royal Challengers Sports Private Ltd: Vijay Mallya (United Breweries Group) 0 (Runners-up 2009, 2011) 2008
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Hyderabad, Telangana David Warner Tom Moody Kalanidhi Maran, (Chairman & MD – Sun Network) 0 2013


The Governing Body and Prize Money

IPL 9th VIVO Trophy - TP

The IPL Governing Body is responsible for all the functions of the tournament till date. Its prominent members are Rajeev Shukla, Sourav Ganguly, Anurag Thakur, Ajay Shirke and Anirudh Chaudhary. In January 2016, the Supreme Court appointed Lodha Committee to recommend separate governing bodies for the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the Indian Premier League (IPL), where Justice RM Lodha suggested a One State- One Member pattern for the board.

The last season of the IPL offered a total prize money of US$5.9 million, with the winning team netting US$2.2 million. The first and second runners up received 10 and 7.5 crores, respectively, with the fourth placed team also winning 7.5 crore. The IPL rules mandate that half of the prize money to be distributed among the team players.

Auction Aftermath

All teams has gone changes this year owing to expulsion of CSK and RR teams. Here is the most price capped players list of the current edition

RCB Shane Watson All-Rounder 9,50,00,000
DD Pawan Negi All-Rounder 8,50,00,000
DD Christopher Morris All-Rounder 7,00,00,000
SRH Yuvraj Singh All-Rounder 7,00,00,000
KXIP Mohit Sharma Bowler 6,50,00,000
SRH Ashish Nehra Bowler 5,50,00,000
RPS Mitchell Marsh All-Rounder 4,80,00,000
RPS M. Ashwin Bowler 4,50,00,000

The games are ready to began. So are you ready?? Support your favorite teams and challenge your arch rivals. Lets pick our favorites and cheer for them, because this time the stakes are high and this is IPLT20’s “The Ultimate Battle”.

Here are the Logos of your favorite team squads and their super cool captains. Have a look!
vivo-ipl-2016-banner-hd-ipl-9-all-teams-captain - TP

The fixtures of the 9th IPL edition:
IPL-2016-Schedule-page-1- TP

ipl schedule list 11 - TP


10 Things To Keep in Mind While Driving on Indian Roads
Stand with Malala

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.